WCBL – Week 2

WCBL-Logo-300x182W/C 29/9

Monday – 3 mile run, 27 minutes.

Tuesday – Knights Gym.  A good session, with some experienced guys and some of the ‘December lot’ getting mixed in.  There was more technique this time, and I partnered up with a young guy, Levi, 24 years old and this was his first session.  Similar height and build to me, so made a good training partner.  Unfortunately it also highlighted how slow and inflexible i am!

Whilst Scott was giving out combinations to work on, i found that i struggled to remember them, or at least, make my hands work in the correct order.  A trainer from Romania was also present, and he spent a bit of time working on my position and movement.  Also commenting on how i needed to relax and be less tense.  Hmm…. i’m British, we dont do less tense.  But he was right, and i knew it.  Concentrating on trying to put the combinations together, plus ‘rolling’ or ‘weaving’, left me too busy with my mind than my body could naturally manage.

I think this is something that will just fall into place over time.

Still struggling with footwork.  I never was much of a dancer.  If my hands are doing something, my feet are stationary.  And vice-versa.

Wednesday – Rest day.  Left shoulder/lat/ribs aching like crazy.  Went for a lunchtime walk.

Thursday – Skipping session in the office underground car park, with some press ups mingled in.  About 25 minutes all together.

Friday – 1.5 mile run.  I wanted to shorten the distance but increase the pace.

Saturday – Knights Gym.  Met the guys n girls who are doing the December show.  ‘300’ workout as a warm up, then onto the bags and pads.  Lots of technique.  Combo’s, footwork, movement.  All the things that i feel i’m struggling with, although now i do feel confident that they will fall into place.  Fitness wise was a bit more re-assuring, as more people were nearer to my level, rather than seasoned boxers.

Weighed in on the gym scales at 79.85kg.

Sunday – rest day.

 

 

Leave a comment